Beer experiment philosophy – is your Control my Control?

General beer discussion, beer talk, pictures, etc...

Moderator: Brandon

lupulus
Apprentice Brewer

Postby lupulus » Fri May 05, 2017 5:49 pm

For those who do not know me, I have a doctorate degree in physiology, and I am currently working in clinical pharmaceutical research. (This is not bragging, just to tell the reader I have been running / reading / reviewing experiments for a while).
I have been reading many beer/brewing papers and beer experiments in the recent past. Most (homebrew) beer experiments that we have seen in the recent past compare the standard process of that brewer (aka control) for brewing a given style with the same process plus the addition of an experimental variable. In fairness, in research papers many times they compare more than one experimental treatment to a control. Similarly to the mentioned homebrew experiments, when one want to test something at home, one will do the same, brew one beer with the standard process and another beer with the standard process plus the experimental variable and compare them.
Assuming taste is used as the metric to compare the beers, sometimes the comparison will yield a significant difference that the brewer (friends/ colleagues) can taste blindly, sometimes this difference is detected by such a majority that would yield a statistically significant difference, sometimes no significant difference can be detected. When discussing why differences were detected or not, it is important to critically think what can affect the odds of detecting a significant difference. These are some key factors: