I finally got "it". Now... on to Festbier

Post your tried-and-true recipes

Moderator: Brandon

caedus
Apprentice Brewer

I finally got "it". Now... on to Festbier

Postby caedus » Wed May 03, 2017 3:45 pm

After a year of perfecting my system (with a few months off for work), I finally developed a process that I could reliably produce lagers with the "it" factor. I am excited because I just started integrating my sauergut reactor into the mix, so hopefully that really pushes things over the top.

Now my next projects are schwarzbier and Festbier. I have been doing helles and pilsner on rotation for 6 months now and I am looking to perfect different Styles.

My current recipe I am going to try is:

66% Pilsner
30% Munich II
3% CaraMunich III

28 IBU of Tradition @ FWH (I like my beer with a touch more bitter backbone, living on the West Coast will fry your tastebuds).

Augustiner Lager Yeast

I am concerned about the Munich II being too aggresive, but this still puts me at 8 SRM, which is deep gold. I did an all Vienna malt beer a few weeks back and I don't feel like that was overly malty, but could have used a more aggressive hopping schedule.
Techbrau
German Brewing

Re: I finally got "it". Now... on to Festbier

Postby Techbrau » Wed May 03, 2017 3:49 pm

Cool! What was the key to getting the process working the way you wanted it to?
If you always do what you've always done, then you'll always get what you've always gotten.
caedus
Apprentice Brewer

Postby caedus » Wed May 03, 2017 4:44 pm

Fucking time, man. It just takes time to nail down the processes and I learned the hard way that the flavor totally changes during lagering.

I have been trying to brew a lodo beer every other week for a few months now. The first 3-4 I was over/under oxygenating (November-January) or over sulfiting (brought it down from 100>75>50>40>35, I still have ~10ppm left after the boil).