Summary of German inspired Changes

Making the beer

Moderator: Brandon

Brody
Assistant Brewer

Summary of German inspired Changes

Postby Brody » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:05 pm

So as you guys know I'm new to the lager world and ironing out some process changes for my next Pils & Helles attempts. I wanted to summarize my game plan so far for any more feedback:

1) Concerning pH: I plan on mashing at 5.4 and acidifying the wort to 5.2 at the end of the boil. Previously I would simply mash at 5.3.

2) I plan on skimming the krausen by popping the top on my corny and using a sanitized stainless spoon to remove it.

3) I plan on minimizing O2 during cooling, crash the wort to fermentation temperature, rack off the trub, pitch, then oxygenate.

4) Concerning the Mash: Using 90% Weyerman Pilsner and 10% Carahell I will dough in at 95f. Here I will adjust the pH and then using direct heat (propane burner on a Blichman Boilermaker) I will heat the mash up to 145f for a 30m Beta rest. Next I will fire the mash up to 158f for an hour long Alpha rest. Finally, I'll raise it to 175f for a 10m mash out.

5) I plan on using a FFT for the first time.

All this sound good or are their some adjustments you would recommend? Haven't covered fermentation/conditioning/lagering yet which I will in a bit.
Techbrau
German Brewing

Re: Summary of German inspired Changes

Postby Techbrau » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:18 pm

I think you're using way too much carahell. Start with 3% and adjust from there.
If you always do what you've always done, then you'll always get what you've always gotten.
Roachbrau
Apprentice Brewer

Postby Roachbrau » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:23 pm

On #2, an alternative way (if you want to ferment 5 gals) is to fill the keg completely, then hook up a blowoff tube to the gas fitting to blow off the krausen. I just tried this for the first time, it worked great. Then when it's almost finished fermenting, unhook the tube and allow it to naturally carbonate!
Bryan R
Braumeister