Lager Fermentation Schedules

How are you fermenting?

Moderator: Brandon

Schemy

Lager Fermentation Schedules

Postby Schemy » Thu Oct 22, 2015 9:56 am

I am fairly new to lager brewing, and still finding my way through the fermentation. Currently using the Brulosopher Lager method (http://brulosophy.com/methods/lager-method/) and have had good results doing so. But I was interested in what others may do with their lagers.

I am not very patient, so the quicker the lager method the better for me. That said, I want the cleanest drinkable beer possible.

Thanks
Bryan R
Braumeister

Re: Lager Fermentation Schedules

Postby Bryan R » Thu Oct 22, 2015 12:46 pm

Thats a great question, and one I don't think you will find a definitive answer to. As Marshall eluded too, this "method" is not new or his own( though he has his own take on it). I have followed the Narziss schedule, for quite some time ( maybe like `04 or so), I(you, anyone) can make some great clean lagers with this method, there is no doubt... but its not necessarily all about the clean lager, maybe one wants some trace sulfur to hang around, maybe something else? Point being, I don't think there is a one size fits all answer. My advice to all is, if what you are doing makes you happy and content don't change.... because its not always greener on the other side :) As I eluded to I have used the Narziss method for some time, and with that being said, one of my best beers to date was a single temperature of 48f for the entirety of fermentation.... was it the recipe? was it the fermentation? who knows!

-German Brewing Founder- :tu
Kit_B
Apprentice Brewer

Postby Kit_B » Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:23 pm

Roachbrau
Apprentice Brewer

Postby Roachbrau » Thu Oct 22, 2015 10:59 pm

Haha this guy^